Deepesh' Blog

Just random……..

SHIVA MANAS PUJA

SHIVA MANAS PUJA

(Just too good to be retained with ourselves)

Shree Adi Shankaracharya, the great exponent of Aadvaita school of philosophy,  has composed many hymns in praise of God. One of them Shiva Manas Puja i.e. mental worship of Shiva, has a unique concept of playing ritualistic worship of Shiva in one’s imagination.

Saints  say that your body is a temple, God is within you and worship is nothing but bhava. I found this hymn an approval to this philosophy. Just understand this hymn and sing that – closing your eyes and imagining doing just what are you singing. Oh God, a perfect puja occurs!

The hymn is as under-

manas puja (click link to read the hymn in pdf format)

शिव मानस पूजा

रत्नै: कल्पितमासनं हिमजलै: स्नानं च दिव्याम्बरं
नाना रत्न विभूषितं मृगमदामोदान्कितं चन्दनम् ।
जातीचम्पक बिल्व पत्र रचितं पुष्पं च धूपं तथा
दीपं देव दयानिधे पशुपते हृत्कल्पितम गृह्यताम् ॥

सौवर्णे नवरत्नखण्ड रचिते पात्रे घृतं पायसं
भक्ष्यं पन्च्यविधम पयोदधियुतं रम्भाफलं पानकम् ।
शाकानामयुतं जलं रुचीकरं कर्पूरखण्डोज्जवलं
ताम्बूलं मनसा मया विरचितं भक्तया प्रभो स्वीकुरु ॥

छ्त्रं चामरयोर्युगं व्यजनकं चादर्शकं निर्मलम्
वीणा भेरी मृदंगकाहलकला गीतं च नृत्यं तथा ।
साष्टांगं प्रणति: स्तुतिर्बहुविधा ह्येतत्समस्तं मया
संकल्पेन समर्पितं तव विभो पूजां गृहान प्रभो ॥

आत्मा त्वं गिरिजा मति: सहचरा: प्राणा: शरीरं गृहं
पूजा ते विषयोपभोगरचना निद्रा समाधिस्थिति: ।
संचार: पदयो: प्रदक्षिणविधि: स्त्रोताणि सर्वा गिरो
यद्यत्कर्म करोमि तत्तदखिलं शम्भो तवाराधनम् ॥

करचरणकृतं वाक्कायजम कर्मजं वा
श्रवन नयनजं वा मानसं वापराधम् ।
विहितमविहितं वा सर्वमेतत्क्षमस्व
जय जय करुणाब्धे श्री महादेव शंभो ॥

A rough translation of the hymn may be like this –

” In my mind, O lord-

I offer you a throne made of jewels

I offer you a bath of Himalaya-dew

I offer you divine clothes

I adorn you with all jewels

I offer you fragrance of musk and of sandal

I offer you belpatra and flowers

I offer you dhupam and deepam

O merciful, the lord of all being, please accept these offerings,

as I have imagined for you, in my heart.

I offer you in a vessel embedded with nine metals-

Kheera and Ghee

I offer you panchamrit made of milk, curd and all

I offer you sweets

I offer you scented water

I offer you betal nut and betel leaf

I offer you an aratee of burning camphor

O my lord please accept all these, as I have imagined for you, in my devotion.

I offer you a lifted stage

I offer you decorative fans

I offer you shining mirror

I offer you resonance of veena, bheri, mridung and of kettledrums

I offer you songs

I offer you dance

I offer you many prayers

I offer you a full prostration

O my Lord please accept these, as I have imagined for you, in my worship

O my lord

My soul is thy temple

My inclinations are thy attendants

My living body is thy abode

My indulgence is thy worship

My sleep in a deep meditation on thee

My walk is thy perambulation

My words are thy prayer

Me lord, I do whatever, is just my devotion to thee

Oh benevolent Lord, O my great Lord

Please save me from effects of all my deeds –

Which I have committed from my hand, feet and body

Which I have committed by hearing, by seeing and by thinking

Please save me from effects of all my deeds-

Auspicious and inauspicious

Oh lord Shambhu

I pray to thee.”

Sanskrit hymns have a spiritual resonance which can be felt by hearing it in voice of a practiced orator only. Shri Ramesh Bhai Oza has sung the hymn in a great manner. Listen and learn how to sing it properly before you practice this in your mind. The music file is attached to complete this nice treat of spirituality !

(Click link below to listen the hymn in voice of Shri Ramesh Bhai Oza)

watch?v=EXJmGcvVjSo

While undergoing this hymn exercise, when God bless us, even for a moment, with that divine state of realizing His presence in our heart, we return to the hymn again and again, yearning for one more such moment. The taste of divine nectar is just like that !

February 18, 2010 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. it is my favourite hymn too

    Comment by Chandrika Joshi | December 12, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

